Beauty · Hauls · Reviews · Swatches

Kylie Lip Kits: Review & Swatches

Hey, guys! Long time, no write. Life’s been crazy with finishing my undergrad thesis, and my computer breaking just in time for finals (yay!). But!!! I’ve got a lot of reviews and such that I want to post, because I’ve been trying a LOT of new products, and I’ve fallen in love with a lot of them.

First up is one that probably everyone and their mother has heard about, Kylie Lip Kits! 

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 4.04.59 PM

I originally just got one lip kit in MOON, and then a single liquid matte in KOKO K, but I ended up falling in love with the products. I put in another order recently for two more lip kits in MALIBOO, because I was looking for something kind of in between the two I already had, and in VIXEN because I was looking for a more vampy, darker shade. Because of a really great promotion Kylie Cosmetics was having, I also got two metallics in KING K and REIGN for free

***** It’s worth noting that the mattes do dry to matte !!! I just made the mistake of photographing them before they’d dried. But Kylie’s mattes do dry pretty fast, go on rather creamy, and dry to a true matte. Which is awesome for me, because my lips look really weird when I do a glossy color! *****

old liquidThese are the two I purchased awhile ago. The top is KOKO K. it’s a bit more pink, which is something I wanted, while still being peachy rather than bright pink. On the bottom is MOON, which is the color I originally bought any Kylie products for. I will say that MOON ended up being a good few shades darker in person and on the skin then it looked on the website. While that’s not necessarily a problem, and I still get quite a bit of use out of it, it wasn’t quite the color I was really wanting. It did come with a lip liner, as it was a lip kit and not a single matte, but  that’s currently somewhere in the bottom of my daily makeup bag. KOKO K, on the other hand, seemed pretty true to color. It just seems a bit harder to apply for some reason? It’s probably just my coloring and how my skin tone looks with the shade, but I don’t tend to reach for it quite as much as I reach for MOON, which is at least 3-4 times a week if I’m being honest.

These are the new lip kits I got. MALIBOO is on top, which isnew kits the color I got because MOON didn’t end up being exactly what I was looking for. As you can see, it’s a bit lighter than MOON and has a bit more of a pinky tone to it, but in the tubes the two are nearly identical. I honestly can’t wait to try this one out! Under it is VIXEN. I honestly thought this shade was going to be more of a true red, though it has more of a berry tone. I can’t really pull off a fire engine red color, though, so I’m glad it leaned more towards the berry side of reds. It is a lot darker than most any other colors I’ve tried, so I’m really excited to give this a go and work with it, since I wanted something a lot more dramatic.

EDIT: the swatches don’t really show it as much, because the lighting was yellow af, but MALIBOO ended up being the color I’ve been literally searching forIt’s a really great nude, lighter than MOON was, which is what I wanted, with a hint of a peachy tone mixed into the taupe shade. I’m absolutely in LOVE with this lip color and will definitely be buying that one again!

And then there are the metallicsAgain, these were both completely free because of the spring promotion Kylie Cosmetics was running. That’s ultimately why I got them, as I haven’t really tried metallics before (I have a metallic sample from smashbox, but it’s bright red so it’s harder for mmetallicse to work with, and I wanted to see if a Kylie metallic would be as goopy as the smashbox one seemed to be) and wanted to, but didn’t really want to spend a lot of money on them without knowing if I’d like them. The top one is REIGN, which is reddish, though still with a coppery, brown nude undertone to it. This is the one I think I’m going to like the most, as it’s a great shade for me, and the metallic finish is what I was hoping for, which was a finish that still looks flat as opposed to a gloss that tends to look a bit more goopy and layered on the lips. On the bottom is KING K. I’m not sure how this one’s going to work out. It’s a bit more yellow and less peachy then I was anticipating, so it’s going to be one I definitely have to work with to get right, but I’m excited for the chance to

So that’s my major haul from Kylie CosmeticsIf you have any favorites yourself, or any tips on how to work a good metallic lip, let me know!

9 thoughts on “Kylie Lip Kits: Review & Swatches

    1. Yeah shipping can be a huge dealbreaker! Tbh, I try to take advantage of free shipping deals whenever I can, bc I hate having to pay for it. But yeah! I’ll def check out your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

