Miscellanious

One Lovely Blog + One Lovely Surprise!

I figure I’ll start this post off with a bit of a confession; I didn’t really make a New Year’s resolution. I wasn’t in the best place, so a resolution I wouldn’t keep seemed a bit pointless. Of course, I was in one of my lowest lows, mentally, and I’ve never been in great shape physically. It all sort of came to a head around the turn of the year and, without realizing it, I’d decided I needed to make a change. A big part of that was finally going to the doctor and taking the steps to begin recovering my mental health. After that, the motivation for the rest seemed a lot easier!

I’ve made a lot of lifestyle changes since them that seem to be taking. I think the key for them, when I’ve never been able to get things like this to work before, is that I stopped saying I have to lose weight, or I have to be organized. Instead, i started thinking more of how I wanted to live my life. I make my bed every morning now, not because it’s what you have to do, but because I enjoy the way it makes my room look, and it feels like a small triumph every morning. I eat better, not because I feel I have to lose weight, but because I enjoy cooking and adding variety to the food I eat. I stopped focusing on the negative things I need to change, and instead framed it around the positive things I want to do for myself, because I enjoy them, or because they make me feel good.

I’m going to do a separate post in a bit about one of thee major ways I’ve changed my eating, but basically I got a refund on my university meal plan, cancelled it, and got a food prep subscription service. I love getting to cook new and delicious things every week, and it’s getting me to eat a lot healthier.

THE SURPRISE !!!

I was curious as to whether or not any of it was paying off. I felt like it was, emotionally, but I wanted some actual numbers to go off of. I’m starting to be a bit more confident, especially about how I look, so I did something I’ve been afraid to do for awhile: I ordered a scale on Amazon. They had a sale on a smart scale, too! Which was great, because along with weight, it allows me to keep track of muscle mass, water weight, and bmi. I stepped on it, praying I was at least at around the same weight I was when I last stepped on a doctor’s scale in January and wanted to cry at the number. And guess what! I’ve lost 40 lbs since January! I couldn’t believe it! I’m not working out much at all, though I have plans to change that. I’ve just cut out a lot of the sodas, lattes, and muffins from my diet, and replaced them with milk, vegetables, fruits, and oats! It’s amazing how the simplest changes can have results without really meaning to!

Seeing that definitely gave me motivation to step up my game a bit and actually try to lose some more weight! I don’t want to do anything drastic that won’t be sustained, but instead I’m going to try to slowly introduce more activity and exercise into my daily life, and work on cutting down the cravings I still have for soda and sweets!


ONE LOVELY BLOG !!! 

Last week, I was nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award. Since I only just started blogging, I was completely surprised! Thank you very much to Janah Pinkuh for the nomination. This is one of my favorite blogs to go to for beauty tips and product ideas, along with just an assortment of posts that are always something to smile about! (And it helps that the Lovely Blog Award post I was tagged in was a collection of pink photography, a color that always makes me feel calm, collected, and like smiling). Definitely check out this amazing blog!

BLOG RULES

  • Each nominee must thank the person who nominated them and link their blog in the post.
  • They must include the rules and add the blog award badge as an image.
  • They must add 7 facts about them.
  • They must nominate 15 people.

SEVEN FACTS

  1. I’m graduating this semester with a BA in Philosophy and Classical Studies from Tulane University, and am completing a thesis on the Homeric epics as philosophy.
  2. I think sheep are the best animal to have ever existed, second only to whatever cat I might be co-opting for a snuggle session at the moment.
  3. I went to uni 3000 miles away from my home town because I wanted to travel.
  4. I left my appendix in Athens.
  5. I try to always have fresh flowers in my room when possible, and tend to steal them from the azalea bushes blooming around campus.
  6. I have no idea what I’ll do after graduation, but I kind of want to work in the wine industry.
  7. I get emotional and cry at 2am about Socrates’ death semi-regularly.

I NOMINATE

4 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog + One Lovely Surprise!

Leave a Reply

