Beauty · Self Care · Skin Care

Ft. That Day of the Month Mask Review

I’ve been on a bit of an upswing, though today ended up being a lull in that. I had a headache for most of the day and could barely keep my eyes open, so I decided to do something to feel a little better. A hot shower and nice exfoliation later, that meant trying out one of the goodies I got in my memebox haulBecause of the timing, I decided to try out a That Day of the Month brightening mask.that day mask

The first thing I noticed when I opened the package was the smell. The other sheet masks I used, which are pretty much just Tony Moly, haven’t really had too much of an outright smell to them, but the second I opened this one, there was. I enjoyed it, the masked smelled very floral, and looking through the ingredients, I realized it’s primarily witch hazel based. That explains the smell! It’s really similar to the toner I use; a witch hazel and rose toner, and it was both refreshing and relaxing. Perfect for this sort of a day.

The next thing was the mask itself. The sheet mask was a bit smaller than the ones I’m used to, which was great since my face is a bit on the shorter end, so it was actually a better fit. It was also thicker and courser, and a bit sturdier along with that. It only took a second to realize why; this particular company makes their line of time of the month sheet masks with a sort of jeIMG_0708lly essence, so that probably needed a thicker and sturdier base to support it. It’s a formula designed to tailor more to the issues your face has going on when your body’s going haywire during your period, and it was a refreshing change of pace from the usual thin essence in a normal sheet mask.

 

One thing I will say is that by the time I took it off, my face was freezing. There’s a bit of spearmint in it, which has a great, refreshing cooling sensation. The cold is also great for your skin as well, and if you’re like I normally am and tend to run hot under stress, it’ll feel amazing! I just had the air conditioning blasting in my apartment already, so I ended up more like a popsicle than with just a pleasant chill.

Overall, this is one of the most relaxing masks I’ve tried, and I really liked the texture and scent. Just taking it off, I noticed a difference immediately in parts of my face: my chin tends to have a really rough texture with some redness, and it immediately looked a little smoother and a lot more even in tone. The rest of my face looked a bit brighter too! I put my nightly sleep mask on after that, which always makes my face really soft in the morning, but already my skin feels so smooth and refreshed. This one’s definitely one I’d do again, especially since a quick look shows that it’s only $1 if you get it separate from any packs or kits! It definitely kicked me out of my funk, and has me feeling ready to get going and have a much better day in the morning!

Leave a Reply

